The 2016 race season marks 47 years of racing action in the Sonoma Valley. Below are a few memorable highlights from the 12-turn road course and the lightning-quick quarter-mile drag strip:

1968: Ground was broken in August and paving of the race surface was completed in November. The first official event at then-Sears Point Raceway was an SCCA Enduro, held on Dec. 1, 1968.

1970: Dan Gurney wins a 150-mile USAC IndyCar race with a field that included Mario Andretti, Mark Donahue and Al Unser.

1977: Paul Ritter wins the first AMA SuperBike event in Sonoma on a Ducati.

1988: The raceway hosts the first NHRA-sanctioned drag race. The winners were Joe Amato (Top Fuel), Mark Oswald (Funny Car) and Harry Scribner (Pro Stock).

1989: NASCAR makes its debut in the Sonoma Valley with Ricky Rudd taking the inaugural victory.

1995: The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series is added to the track's schedule for three years.

1996: The track is purchased by O. Bruton Smith and Speedway Motorsports, Inc.

2000: The raceway begins its four-year, $100 million Modernization Plan, which renovates and updates nearly all aspects of the facility.

2002: The facility announces that is has been renamed Infineon Raceway as part of a 10-year strategic partnership with Infineon Technologies.

2005: INDYCAR racing returns to the Sonoma Valley after a 35-year hiatus. Tony Kanaan claimed the inaugural victory and did push-ups in the Wine Country Winner's Circle.

2006: The Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series makes its debut in Sonoma. Auburn's Scott Pruett and teammate Luis Diaz took the checkered flag.

2008: Kyle Busch earns his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series road-course victory when he takes the checkered flag. His victory also marks the first win for Toyota in the Sonoma Valley.

2009: Kasey Kahne earns his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series road-course victory and the first for team owner, Richard Petty, since 1999.

2012: The 10-year partnership with Infineon Technologies ends and the raceway is rebranded Sonoma Raceway.

2015: Sonoma Raceway hosted the Verizon IndyCar Series season finale for the first time ever with Target Chip Ganassi's Scott Dixon taking the race win and clinching his second series championship.